Cheap Fun Welding Projects?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cheap Fun Welding Projects?

So I am pretty new in the game, but I really hate practicing when there is no end result other than just a few pretty lines on a piece of metal. Yes I know I should be patient, but for me welding is just a hobby, I don't have access to much scrap so I will have to buy most everything new.

So what are your favorite little projects you have made?

My list once I find some metal are:

Welding cart for my XMT-304, Dynasty 200, lincoln Promig 175 (i bought it at lowes when I didn;t know any better) and probably a plasma cutter soon enough.

Repair some broken welds on my aluminum houseboat

Build a swim deck and grill deck for house boat

Repair some of my deck funiture that was damaged recently from wind

Replace the door, and misc other parts on my tailgate bus

Construct a better couple of dog crates for my pups

A new workbench with a super flat top for wood working and metal working

I would love to find a few smaller projects to get a little more versed in tig'n Throw out some ideas!

Thanks!

Brandon

Well, there are a lot of projects in the projects section on this site to chose from and I bet you could find something there. I would recommend making a welding table early on so you have something to weld on, pound on, grind on and clamp stuff to. There seem to be as many table styles and choices as there are welders, but here is the name of the project (on this site in projects) for one I made..Another (lowbuck) home made welding table.
    Don J
    Reno, NV

Never pick a fight with an old guy. Old guys are too smart to fight and get hurt. They'll just kill you and get it over with.

Comment

Here is a project.

Weld a 1/8 inch stainless rod onto the front of your oven rack shelves so that when you pull the rack outward, the pan or dish does not slide right off the shelf.