Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

A machines rated metal thickness and penetration...how do they figure?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A machines rated metal thickness and penetration...how do they figure?

This is something I have always wondered. I work for a race car/hot rod speed shop and we do a lot of fabrication work. I am pretty new to it (been a mechanic for a while but only welding for a little over a year now) but I get a lot of experience and training from a very talented fabricator. At work as far as MIG machines go we have a Miller 175 and a Miller 212. I recently bought a Miller 211 for my own use at home. We run them on 50 amp breakers at work and at home I have a dedicated 40 amp for the 211. All these welders are using an Argon/C02 mix for mild steel.

One thing that has always puzzled me, is that for any of these machines when welding metal thicknesses at the end of their rated range (or really just about anything much thicker than 1/8th inch plate) none of these welders would really penetrate completely on a butt weld of two pieces without beveling the edges. If I took two pieces of 1/4 inch or 3/8th's plate, butted them together and cranked my Miller 211 on high, even with a slow hand , pushing the bead up hill and thick wire I don't think I would ever see a weld that would penetrate through the entire thickness of the metal.

This just gets me curious. What exactly DO they consider when rating these machines for particular metal thicknesses?

Good resource>>>

http://www.millerwelds.com/resources...calculator.php
    MillerMatic 211

Comment

Originally posted by Ls2cam View Post
      That calculator is awful, especially on the high end. I don't know where they came up with some of the numbers, but they just don't add up in real life.

This is a much better guide.
      http://www.millerwelds.com/resources...welding-basics
      2007 Miller Dynasty 200 DX
      2005 Miller Passport 180

Comment