X ray

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• X ray

I have been welding pipe for 6 years and i am aws and asme certified i have never failed a bend test. But during this time i have never taken an xray test, is there anything i need to know to successfully pass this test?
    Test will be as follows:
    6g position
    heavy wall 6'' pipe
    1/8" gap
    gtaw root
    gtaw hot pass
    smaw 7018 cap using stringer

Originally posted by byrdman86 View Post
    I have been welding pipe for 6 years and i am aws and asme certified i have never failed a bend test. But during this time i have never taken an xray test, is there anything i need to know to successfully pass this test?
    Test will be as follows:
    6g position
    heavy wall 6'' pipe
    1/8" gap
    gtaw root
    gtaw hot pass
    smaw 7018 cap using stringer
    yeah... make an x-ray quality weld. Which if you have been welding pipe for six years, you must know what a good groove type weld is? if its an asme test, then your root is gonna have to be 100%. Hot pass is no problem as long as you dont suck your root back. And the 7018 just make sure you have good start and stops, and dont trap slag. Cap pass, run stringers( i would use 3/32 rod) and if your flux is broke off the end of your rod, like on a restart, just get a fresh rod. dont restart with a half used rod.
    sigpic2007 dodge 3500 cummins

Comment