Weak tig welds on aluminum

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Weak tig welds on aluminum

I have a Diversion 165 and I'm new to tig welding. After going through the 2% ceriated tungsten and collets the package came with, and making horrific welds. I am getting the hang of it. I have only used it on 6061 aluminum using 4043 filler. My local miller dealer gave me 1/8'' pure tungsten w/ collets and 1/8'' filler. I am able to lay a decent bead but think I'm having penetration problems.The manual shows that size tungsten way out of amperage range. I am able to beat the two 1/8'' angled aluminum apart, and seems to break on the outsides of the weld. After looking at the manual I see I should be using 3/32''. I bought 3/32'' 2% ceriated tungsten, collets and filler. I am welding alot of 1/8'' angle to angle and 2''sch 40 pipe to 1/8'' angle. Also other sch 40 pipe from 1'' to 1 1/2'' to each other at times. I have my gas 100% argon @ 17-20cfh. And have the amperage setting at the line of 1/8'' and 3/16'' on the machine aprox. 140 amps. I have also had a few time where I had a hard time starting an arc. Seems after the machine has been used for a bit. Evaen with a new tungsten and collets. Could the 1/8'' pure tungsten size be the problem, being out of range for the machines capability?

I believe that sch40 pipe in any diameter will be more than the diversion could handle.

Also, dont use pure tungsten for anything. 1/8" is too big - you wont need anything bigger than .093

Comment

2" schedule 40 should be just a hair thicker than 1/8" Might be on the edge.

BTW, this is why structural stuff with aluminum scares me... I wanted to build a car trailer from aluiminum but I think I will pass for now.