Welding Lathes: questions/or build one

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Welding Lathes: questions/or build one

I have a job where we are producing high-end workout equipment, each product has about 125" of welds, all welds are circular ( go around the object) and are concentric to each other. Products range from 18" to 60" in length ad 6"-12" dia., all welds are cosmetic and TIG. Right now we are doing it completely manually, weld a quadrant, rotate, repeat, we are getting good results, but it takes a long time.
    I want to build a new assembly jig, one that is powered for rotation, I have a pulser and would like to semi-automate it. I have thought of a few ideas from buying and modifying a older metal lathe to building one from scratch, maybe basing it off of a I-beam frame. I have no experience with automated welding, so that will be a learning curve in itself. The biggest thing to over come is slowing down the rotation to something manageable for TIG, I am thinking .25-.3 RPMs. How fast can these automatic welder go?
    What do you think is the best way to go? Options would be to find a clapped out lathe (Wood or Metal) and gear it down a lot. Biggest issue is finding one with a long bed, fabbing a extension, or cutting the bed and extending it. Or I can get as straight of an I beam I can find, retro-fit a lathe head/tail stock, or fit some kind of pre-built welding positioner and make a tail stock. I would like to do this as economically as possible, I have more time than cash. I would like to make it for less than $1000. What do you think?

If you guys want faster weld speed, why tig? Mig it.

Comment

Your looking for a welding positioner. Take a look at ebay just to get a better idea of what one is and does.

Comment

Yepper,

Just about described my Atlas positioner.

Think you're going to be "a little light" in the budget for a decent positioner though.
        Syncrowave 250 DX Tigrunner
        Dynasty 200 DX