Need help with vertical welds.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help with vertical welds.

I am in my welding certifications classes. I am kinda new at welding but I'm good at it. I am ahead of my class and no one knows anything about vertical welds but my instructor. He is usually doing something and don't want to bother him. I need some good tech. for this type of weld. I am haveing problems weaving tighter beads. My welds look great according to my instructor but he says they are a little too wide. When I try to weld within the tow of my root pass I still weld too wide. How can I fix this problem.

Remember CLAMS

Miller's resources are just wonderful on this site. Try this link;

Comment

Originally posted by Westside Welder View Post
      I am in my welding certifications classes. I am kinda new at welding but I'm good at it. I am ahead of my class and no one knows anything about vertical welds but my instructor. He is usually doing something and don't want to bother him. I need some good tech. for this type of weld. I am haveing problems weaving tighter beads. My welds look great according to my instructor but he says they are a little too wide. When I try to weld within the tow of my root pass I still weld too wide. How can I fix this problem.
      What Process are you using???
      '08 F-350
      Vantage 400
      SA-250
      SA-200
      Invertec V350Pro
      Invertec V205T-AC/DC

Miller 12VS suitcase
      Miller spectrum 2050

Pipe beveler's
      Track torch

Comment

We could spend hours trying to tell you how to do it when your teacher who is getting paid to teach you can show you the basics in minutes.

Comment

Well he has. Now he says just to work on getting them a little bit tighter. I am welding with 98 amperage.... I don't know if I should lower it or anything. We are working on fab and I am welding. So it is a little busy in the shop... Its hard to get help sometimes.

Comment