Question about liability......

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about liability......

As some of you know I have built a couple of ramps for freestyle motocross jumpers. Actually, I made one for myself and one for a friend who has his own track. I currently agreed to build one for a track in Pennsylvania that I frequent and took a small deposit. The guy says he already started to build the landing. Anyways, he has possibly $2000-3500 invested in the whole thing, but only $600 to me. I am questioning whether I should build this ramp as his track is open to the public (THEY SIGN A WAIVER, PAY AND RIDE ). I do not have my own business. I have always built stuff on the side for friends and a couple cash customers. Anyways, my ramps are proven and strong(I am a full time welder by trade). I am not worried about them failing, but more less if the rider doesn't have the proper skills or the track owner doesn't set things up just right and keep everything maintained well. Anyways, what do you all think the liabilities may be on my part? Am I still liable even if the rider signs a waiver at the track and the track says ride at your own risk? I'd surely rather give the $600 back and help reimburse for the initial investment rather than put myself and soon to be wife at risk of a lawsuit. Anyways, thanks in advance for any thoughts/opinions. Dave