Working union in 2010.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Working union in 2010.

Those of you that know me on here know that I am a self employed rig welder for the past 2.5 years. Things have been hit and miss for me thats for sure. Last year I parked the rig and worked as an employee for a local mechanical company doing all of their pipe welding. This company was a former union contractor gone private 5 yrs ago. I quit in Nov of 2009 to go back to the oilfields with my rig. I only managed 5 weeks of work before being laid off in early Jan of this year. I sat at home for over 2 months making phone calls and faxing companies all over western Canada trying to find work with my rig or by hand, but to no avail.
    In March I hit up the local UA hall and hit it off with one of the business reps. My wifes Grandpa and his brother both have over 40 yrs with UA 179 here in Sask. both as rig welders...the wifes Grandpa was a bead hand on the pipeline and his bro was more into facility, fab work. Anyways there was my in and within a few weeks I got a call to work out at a nearby potash mine. I have now been there nearly 3 months and its going pretty good. I have mostly been welding stainless which has been a real good learning experience. My probation is nearly up and I have 3 letters from co workers and foremen and some successful x ray documents to add in there as well. It seems like I will be joining and becoming a member.
    In the past I have been quite anti union, being that I worked in Alberta for 10 yrs and what not. I had always heard bad things about the union...many of which I now see were assumptions and prejudices.