Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HF stays on + yellow/brown soot around welds with older 180 SD

Hi all,

I don't know much about what causing these issues, but I do know that I am a novice. Here is the skinny:

Unit:
    Syncrowave 180 SD (no display)
    Stock # 903600

Issue:
    When DCEN TIG welding, the HF appears to stay on when whenever the pedal is depressed. The arc wanders and the welds are flanked by yellow soot. The arc amperage varies correctly with the pedal and the gas flow works as expected.
    The stick welding function appears operational.

History / Background:
    I purchased the unit new about 7 or 8 years ago.
    PC board was replaced under warranty early in its life for an HF issue. I think this was during the 1st year.
    I have only used the unit a few times totaling up to around 20 hours.
    I am a novice with welding and this machine.

Steps taken:
    I have read the manual and followed the troubleshooting tips
    -- Set the Argon flow between 15 - 20 CFH ( although I do not know how to verify the flow from the torch)
    -- Set the Spark Gaps
    -- The torch is kept within 1/8" of the work
    -- Blew out the welder with compressed air
    -- Replace unreadable labels
    I have re-seateed all of the connections on the PC1 board and the HD1 as recommended in some of the other posts
    -- I did not see any corrosion on or in the connectors

Thank you for looking at this post. I appreciate you time and any suggestions that you may offer.

Thanks again
    Greg

I have the same problem with my 180 sd

Let's try to solve this problem together. I have some information I can send you tomorrow regarding what might be the problem.

Comment

RE: I have the same problem with my 180 sd

That will be great. Thanks

Comment

Diagnostics from other posts:

Here's something interesting from an earlier post regarding HF stuck on for syncrowave 180 sd:

User 1 states: