Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to stop the arc in TIG

Hello again,

I'm a complete beginner for TIG, have seen a bunch on videos read a whole lot of articles and I'm aware that it will simply take lots of practice to master TIG, but I just had few questions on how to best stop the arc as I learn. ( I haven't found a good description of how to properly do this)

points to consider -I have a Maxstar 150 STH (so it can do lift arc or high frequency) and I have the thumbwheel control.

Question 1. When using Lift-arc (without remote amperage control), what is the best method for terminating the arc? I tried pulling away but It just seems like the wrong thing to do, especially since it doesn't allow me to keep gas coverage on the cooling weld.

Question 2. When using HF start (with the the thumb control) it seems almost impossible to neatly start a weld puddle and keep it in place while you increase the amperage with the little wheel,.... and even worse when you turn it down to terminate the arc, is there a better way?
    - I aware that foot amperage control pedals exist, is this pretty much the only solution for making this easy. Or should I just get an on/off foot switch (that is my main concern for now).

Q.3 - Does an amp control pedal have a built-in on/off function or is it only an increase or decrease of amperage?

thanks

You can speed up at the end of the weld then pull the torch away, this is the way I have always done it without the hand or foot controls.
    The speed up at the end of the weld is to help eliminate the crater which is critical on 100% penetration welds.

I use the foot control on my Dynasty to do that, it would be much easier than the finger control I would think as I havent owned a finger control. I personally like the HF start the best, I have tried lift arc and really didnt care for it as I have to touch the tungsten to the work and sooner or later break off the point.