Problems with TIG weld quality on steel

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problems with TIG weld quality on steel

I'm pretty new to welding in general, and totally new to TIG welding. I was working on some practice pieces last night and having issues. The work is 1/8" mild steel rod, doing T-joints, no filler, 30 amps on the machine, 100% argon. Maxstar 150 STH if that's important.

The first two joints seemed to really go fairly well, flowed together okay, at least for my (non)experience level. The six I did afterward were pretty bad, to the point that one of them refused to adhere at all. Mostly it seems like what ends up happening is that have to heat up the pieces way too much before they finally start to flow. A lot of my joints looked "overcooked," kind of scaly, and the piece is red hot once I'm done.

Before attempting the welds I wiped down the steel good with acetone and then scrubbed it with steel wool. Perhaps I don't have the pieces in good contact with each other? They are touching, but it's not perfectly even across the face of each piece.

What distance should I be shooting for between the tungsten and the work? Maybe I'm making too long an arc?

I was watching very closely, while trying to make the joint, and I guess what I should be seeing is that the steel will form a little puddle like what you'd see when gas welding, and then both pieces will flow together. What I was seeing, however, was just a little bright point on one piece, and it wouldn't get any larger, just stay at that one small point, even if I moved the tungsten around. I couldn't get the weld spot to grow without difficulty, or until the whole piece was about to collapse from excessive heat.

Any thoughts would be a big help. Many thanks.

TIG Tips

Gearhead: You are trying what's known as an "auotgenous" weld (no filler metal).

Your amps are way too low. Should be up around 100 (85-140)

1/16" ceriated tungsten (sharpened)

1/4" - 3/8" cup orfice