Lanthanated vs. Thoriated tungsten

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lanthanated vs. Thoriated tungsten

So i am new to TIG welding and have realized that thoriated tungsten tips are radioactive. I know its minimal but if i can i prefer to stop using them. I have done some research and see that lanthanated tungsten is actually very similar to 2% thoriated and doesn't have any of the radioactive materials. It can even do AC welding. That said what are the disadvantages? Weld process is also very similar (I am told). Can thoriated weld a wider variety of metal? I am welding mild steel and stainless steel for the most part. Any input would be great.

Btw sorry if this has been posted before.

The lanthanated or Ceriated tungstens can be used anywhere that the Thoriated was used plus AC welding especially with inverter power sources. The only negative is that they usually cost a little more than the Thoriated.

A-

Comment

Disadvantages -

1. Not availible at most local welding shops
      2. Seems to be a little harder, and there for harder on grinding wheels.

Advantages

1. Handle more amperage then any other alloy (accoring to the chart I have)
      2. Can be used on all types of machines
      3. Has the lowest breakdown voltage (meaning easiest to start an arc).

-Dan
      Owner
      DW Metalworks LLC
      Miller Trailblazer 302
      Miller 8RC Feeder
      Miller Passport Plus
      Miller Dynasty 200 DX W/Coolmate 1
      Hobart Handler 135
      Hypertherm PowerMAX 30
      Smith O/A Torch Set
      Plus more tools then my wife will ever know about....

Comment

That's what i thought. Im just a hobby welder therefore the additional cost really wont be that much of an issue. As long as weld quality and procedure is the same i think im going to use only lanthanated. Thanks for your help on this.

Comment

Thoriated is also slightly radioactive and is being phased out last I remember.
          Miller Maxstar 200 DX