Is pulse worth the $$?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is pulse worth the $$?

I'm about to buy a new TIG unit. My LWS is setting me up with a new Diversion 165.

I will be using it for hobby autobody restoration work and various stainless and aluminum projects. I should also add that I'm a novice TIG welder.

In your opinion, should I hold off, save my money and look for for a unit that offers pulse mode?

Given that I'm a beginner who will eventually be doing more aluminum work than steel, is it worth the extra money to get pulse mode?

If you really want to play with a pulser you can get one of these from Oakden and add it to a Diversion. I have no expereince with it, but I think there are a couple people on here that have used on.

http://oakden.ca/home/index.php/tig-pulser-unit

-Dan
    Owner
    DW Metalworks LLC
    Miller Trailblazer 302
    Miller 8RC Feeder
    Miller Passport Plus
    Miller Dynasty 200 DX W/Coolmate 1
    Hobart Handler 135
    Hypertherm PowerMAX 30
    Smith O/A Torch Set
    Plus more tools then my wife will ever know about....

Comment

The thinner the material and the less experienced you are, the more you'll want a unit with pulse. I say save up and get a pulse machine.

Comment

Well, one thing you want to consider right off is how much you are willing to spend & what you want to do.

The Diversion is indeed, a nice little machine. Key word little. If you do not already own a stick machine, you may want to hold on to your money & consider something bigger you can grow into. The Diversion will not stick weld & is very limited for AC TIG. If you never plan on stick welding & never intend to do anything thicker than sheet metal, the Diversion will do fine for your needs.