Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Glasses damage Eyes?

G,Day from WA, (Western Australia).
    Hello fellow metal melters. I have reached an age where it is necessary to use perscription glasses to see what the heck I am doing (boo hoo!). Just wondering if using perscription glasses with their magnifying effect when welding will speed up long term sight loss. Guessing it will, but hoping it wont. I am guessing copping a flash with perscription glasses would be particularily damaging?
    Regards, West-Oz.

Hello to West-Oz.
    I am a hobby welder and just yesterday had my eyes examined. I ask the Dr. about welding affecting my eyes. It turns out that he and his dad own a small machinery shop! He MIG welds himself - unusual for a Dr.
    He said my eyes were completely fine. I wear prescription bi-focals under my hood with cheaters lens.
    He said as long as you use your hood, you should not have any additional eye problems from welding.
    Of course as we age, we will most likely have cataracts, but not any worse from welding.
    Burt
    Miller Thunderbolt XL
    http://www.10FtDrillBit.com

Comment

I just had my eyes checked and a new perscription and they are almost the same 20 20 vision. I am 70 and have been welding since I was 15 or so and fulltime for the last 20 years. It hasnt hurt mine that I can tell other than the start of cataracts which is common for my age group.

I have worn drug store magnifiers to weld with for over 20 years, they havent hurt my eyes that I can tell. I think they also block most of the UV as I havent gotten flashed nearly as much since I started wearing them.
      mike sr

Comment

Glasses don't make the light seen by the eye any brighter, they just make anything in their designed distance range viewable with clearer focus.