Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Critical Weld Inspection without Using Expensive Tools?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Critical Weld Inspection without Using Expensive Tools?

I am just a hobbyist TIG welder, not a pro like you guys. So I dont have access to expensive tools to test welds. However, I am wondering if the welds I am doing are going to work in a critical situation. To understand let me twll you a bit about what I am doing:

One of my hobbies is renovating and repairing old vintage travel trailers. Often these trailers have rust issues and you need to repair the chassis by slicing out some steel and welding new in. I prefer to slice out a whole cross member rather than splice in a new piece of metal. I am not sure how strong splicing in would be. The problem is much of the frames are square tubing. I can weld them just fine but cant inspect the back of the weld. At the same time the chassis is what takes most of the pressure from the trailer and they have some 25k to 40k of stuff riding on that chassis. So obviously I am concerned about weld quality.

I TIG weld everything but I am self taught. I have been meaning to take a course but with working 50 hours a week as a software engineer, it has been hard to swing that. I feel fairly confident on things that aren't mission critical but the chassis trailer welds make me nervous. Right now I am using an old Syncrowave at a friend's business but I am about to buy my own Syncro 200, did the wiring for it this weekend and I am finishing fireproofing my garage shop.

Any tips or tricks for inspecting welds when you cant see inside what you are welding? Also can anyone think of any tips for injecting argon into a square tube when the tube is welded at both ends? One end is easy, the other i worry about contamination of the weld.

Thanks in advance.

-- Robert

Take matters into your own hands. Learn how to test your own welds. Just like they do in school or on the job.

Caution!