Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• tig weld problem melting tungsteen

hi ,
    i am learning tig weld and i have a problem.
    i use 1/16' lantha tungsteen , mild steel, and 80-100amps , 15cfh argon,dc

the problem is that the tungsteen melts and forms a blob in about 2-4minites of continue welding.
    i do not know what i am doing wrong. i read that the 1/16" electrode have much more capacity in amps . why melts?
    it this a kind of contamination? i agree that i am learning and i dip the electrode to pool from time to time.also i use a general purpose grinding wheel.is the contamination from the above related with the melting?
    should i stop and cool the tungsteen?(please notice that the melting occures if i weld continiusly for about 7-10" welding)
    thanks for any help!
    Achilles

I'm not an expert, but I think you're running too many amps for that 1/16 electrode. Ok for tacks, etc but not for long beads.
    John
    Old Miller Swinger 180 Buzzbox
    Miller Diversion 165
    1945 Craftsman Atlas Lathe
    Smithy Lathe/Mill

Comment

I also agree that 1/16 tungsten might be to small even though it says it should hold more amps that's not always the case. You should be running dc-. Are you using an air cooled or watercooled torch? I would try a 3/32 tungsten. If your not grinding off all of the contamination after dipping then it can blob back up.
      Last edited by MMW; 11-26-2009, 09:04 AM.
      MM250
      Trailblazer 250g
      22a feeder
      Lincoln ac/dc 225
      Victor O/A
      MM200 black face
      Whitney 30 ton hydraulic punch
      Lown 1/8x 36" power roller
      Arco roto-phase model M
      Vectrax 7x12 band saw
      Miller spectrum 875
      30a spoolgun w/wc-24
      Syncrowave 250
      RCCS-14

Comment

Is it forming a blob after you dip the tungsten in the puddle or before??

That could be your base metal globed on the electrode and not the electrode it self.