New to welding, bought a maxstar 150s

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to welding, bought a maxstar 150s

I'm new to welding, tried it at work and can't stop. I just bought a miller maxstar 150s and went to my local tractor supply and purchased a variety of rods to play. I think I'm doing alright but seem to have a fair amount of undercut in almost all of my welds. too much heat?

Hard to tell from here without pics and other info. A variety of rods may be confusing, to start with that machine 6011 and 7018. They operate differently, learn the basics with those and you are on your way.

Comment

Originally posted by Fruecrue View Post
      I'm new to welding, tried it at work and can't stop. I just bought a miller maxstar 150s and went to my local tractor supply and purchased a variety of rods to play. I think I'm doing alright but seem to have a fair amount of undercut in almost all of my welds. too much heat?
      Can be from too high current setting, travelling too fast, wrong work angle.
      Millermatic350P/Python, MillermaticReach/Q300
      Millermatic175
      MillermaticPassport/Q300
      HTP MIG200
      PowCon 300SM, MK Cobramatic
      ThermalArc 185ACDC, Dynaflux Tig'r, CK-20
      DialarcHF, Radiator-1
      Hypertherm PowerMax 380
      Purox oxy/ace
      Jackson EQC
      -F350 CrewCab 4x4
      -LoadNGo utility bed
      -Bobcat 250NT
      -PassportPlus/Q300
      -XMT304/Optima/Spoolmatic15A
      -Suitcase8RC/Q400
      -Suitcase12RC/Q300
      -Smith oxy/propane
      -Jackson EQC

Comment

Originally posted by Desertrider33 View Post
        Can be from too high current setting, travelling too fast, wrong work angle.
        Hello, and Welcome to our little play house !
        Anyway, Ditto what Desertrider said !!

............. Norm
        www.normsmobilewelding.blogspot.com

Comment