Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How do I cut a weld between to panels without destroying either pannel?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do I cut a weld between to panels without destroying either pannel?

I am restoring a 40 Ford pickup and the previous owner welded the front fenders to the running boards. I need to separate these without destroying either the fenders or the runnung boards. What is the best way to do that?
    Help!! I have NO welding experience . .
    Yes
    25.00%
    No
    0.00%
    Need more information
    62.50%
    Makes no sense . .
    12.50%

The poll is expired.

Last edited by JimUS023372; 09-28-2009, 08:23 AM. Reason: spelling

Can you post some pictures so we can see exactly what the situation is?

You haven't given enough info to really help you, all we can do is guess at what the problem is.

Was it spot welded, plug welded, seam welded, etc...etc....

that all makes a difference on getting it apart.
    If necessity is the Mother of Invention, I must be the Father of Desperation!

sigpicJohn Blewett III 10-22-73 to 8-16-07
    Another racing great gone but not to be forgotten.http://video.google.com/videoplay?do...modified&hl=en

Comment

Originally posted by JimUS023372 View Post
      I am restoring a 40 Ford pickup and the previous owner welded the front fenders to the running boards. I need to separate these without destroying either the fenders or the runnung boards. What is the best way to do that?
      Help!! I have NO welding experience . .
      No matter what your going to be doing some structural body work on the RB and fenders once you get them apart. Time to learn When we see the pics we can point you in the right direction.
      "Better Metalworking Through Research"

Miller Dynasty 300DX
      Miller Dynasty 200DX
      Miller Spectrum 375 extreme
      Miller Millermatic Passport

Miller Spot Welder
      Motor-Guard stud welder