questions on becoming a rig hand?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• questions on becoming a rig hand?

hello i am a younger man looking to go to school and become certified in pipe and structural welding but my heart is set on becoming a pipeline rig welder. i am currently a heavy equipment operator and habe had the honor of working around pipeline welders and have finally decided that i am not getting any younger and its my time to pursue my dream. that said i think the message is pretty clear i understand you bust your a$$ and work long hours and are gone from home more than not! The questions to my anwsers are only going to come from people who have been there and done that so thats why i am here, and probably will never leave cause i have so many questions. first of all what is a suitable welding truck? most people i have seen are using 1 ton duallys with 4x4. second question what would be a good choice of a welder? alot of people i know seem to think that a lincoln pipeliner200 or classic 300 is the ticket but i dont know how much to believe coming from them. third qeustion for tonight is what kinds of hand tools should i carry on my rig little or big grinders?, lots of hose and lead's or not so long?, what type of files and other tools of the like should i get? i basically need to know how to set up a rig that will get the job done, so who better to ask that you guys that are out there doing it or have done it before all your input and suggestions are much appreciated as i have no one else to learn from
    thanks tim smith

If you go a few pages back on the forums, you will find two new posts on rig welders. A few guys have posted what tools they have.
    sigpic2007 dodge 3500 cummins

Comment

thanks for replying so fast. i will check that out

Comment

Originally posted by sae350 View Post
        If you go a few pages back on the forums, you will find two new posts on rig welders. A few guys have posted what tools they have.