How to pay for a tig?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to pay for a tig?

If everyone here would send me a couple of dollars, it would be easy! Ok, that is not really what I mean. I can write the check, but I can't justify it. I am a commercial remodel contractor. I have used all of my equipment from time to time on projects and have earned enough with it to justify the purchase. Although my equipment is idle much more than it is used.

Ok, I want a tig machine, I don't need one. I am sure that there are some projects that I can do with a tig that I currently do not do, but I am not sure what they would be. I am not looking to hire out my services, just incorporate tig welding into what I already do. Any time I have needed anything tig welded, I just hire it out, what I have spent to date would not even buy the accessories for a machine. We just did a bar and put up a bunch of al tread plate. I could have welded the butt joints together for a great look, but the owners already had sticker shock over the price of the tread plate.

Anyone have any examples of how a tig machine will benefit a general contractor that self performs a lot of his own work?

I have really enjoyed reading the threads regarding selecting a tig machine, and I have learned a lot, THANKS! I am decided between a Dynasty 200dx and a Syncrowave 200. The Dynasty is more machine than I need, but I can see where I might want the portability, and the only regret I have ever had when purchasing equipment is not spending the extra to get the better unit.

Thanks for any input,

Jim

350P
    Dynasty 200dx
    Millermatic 250X
    Passport Plus
    Hypertherm 900 W/RT60
    Bobcat 225