Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help Please!

Hello Everyone,

This may be a dumb question, but I figure it is even dumber if I do not ask it. I am pretty new to this whole area of welding and electricity. I have what seems to me to be a heavy duty extension cord. It is 50 ft. in length it was my now deceased father-in-laws. How do I tell what guage it is? It says 5-15 on both ends and nothing else anywhere. Thanks.
    Last edited by sport.pilot; 08-21-2009, 11:40 PM.
    Darryl

It would help if you could post a pic. Are the ends molded onto the cord or does it have universal ends on it? All the wire I have ever delt with has been listed as even number gauge size. I am not an electrician by any means. usually the 5 would stand for 5 conductor and the 15 would be the gauge of the wire. Break out your tape and tell us the width of the cord and pics will help.

Comment

Extension size

Sorry, can't do a picture right now, all cameras are packed for the ultralight fly-in we are participating in tomorrow. But, the ends are not universal, they are the molded on kind that you can't remove unless you cut them off. The wire width is aproximately 7/16ths. It is much smaller than the cord on my new Miller 211. So much to learn! Thanks for your help.
      Darryl

Comment

http://www.elect-spec.com/nema_plgsokt.htm (link just for visual representation of the connectors)

You've got a 15A rated garden variety 120v extension cord. Probably lucky if it's 12 gage rather than 14. Way too small for your welder.
        Syncrowave 250DX
        Invison 354MP
        XR Control and 30A

Airco MED20 feeder
        Thermal Dynamics Cutmaster 81
        Smith O/A rig
        And more machinery than you can shake a 7018 rod at

Comment