Suggestions for Welding a SS Turbo Header

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Suggestions for Welding a SS Turbo Header

I am about to embark on a new project: Building a stainless header for a turbocharged motorcycle. I have been welding and fabricating for about 25 years, but I do not weled on a regular basis. I may go for a period of several weeks or longer where I weld at least something 3-4 times a week. then I may go for months without welding much at all. When I am in practice, I am decent, though not a professional by any means.

This project will require me to learn a new skill, and that is welding stainless. So I am looking for some advice and tips to help me get up to speed on this as quickly as possible. All material will be 304SS. The header will be primarily constructed from schedule 10 (.109" thick) mandrel bends, with a 1/2" thick turbo flange. The exhaust pipe and wastegate will be done with .065" tubing.

I will be using a Synchrowave 351, with a Weldcraft WF225 torch. We will start on the header itself first, (the .109" tubing) and I was planning to use 1/16" thoriated tungsten, .062" 308L rod, and argon as both the shielding and the back purge. Back purging is also something I have never done before, so any pointers would also be welcome on that as well.

So what I am looking for is starting points on the welder settings or any recommendations on the actual equipment or consumables, and any relevant tips or advice for the actual welding process, the back purging, and any other advice that will generally make my life easier.

Thanks in advance for any advice to come.

Since argon is heavier than air, fill your backpurge from the bottom, pushing the air out the top; like filling a swimming pool from the drain. Doesn't need a lot of pressure, just wait for the air to displace.

That's all I got.
    RETIRED desk jockey.

Hobby weldor with a little training.

Craftsman O/A---Flat, Vert, Ovhd, Horz.

Miller Syncrowave 250.
    sigpic