252 Stainless .023 feed problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 252 Stainless .023 feed problems

Right off, I'm new at this. I am trying to weld stainless with .023 but can't get it to feed reliably. Anytime the electrode hits anything the wire kinks in the 252 right after the drive wheels before the liner and has to be reloaded.

I've tried different feed tensions without any success.

I'm using the standard 12' Miller MIG gun with Bernard CenterFire conversion.

What am I missing, what should I try? Can I use the Spoolmatic 30A with .023 stainless?

Thanks,
    Roger

Make sure the gun is fully seated in the gun housing. There should be little gap between the drive rolls and the liner input. SS should not kink that easily at that point unless there is excessive space between the rolls and liner. Make sure you have the proper size drive rolls. You need the .023 drive rolls too. A .023-030 liner would help too.

Andy

Comment

"Bird's Nesting"

Originally posted by rhubbard View Post
      Right off, I'm new at this. I am trying to weld stainless with .023 but can't get it to feed reliably. Anytime the electrode hits anything the wire kinks in the 252 right after the drive wheels before the liner and has to be reloaded.

I've tried different feed tensions without any success.

I'm using the standard 12' Miller MIG gun with Bernard CenterFire conversion.

What am I missing, what should I try? Can I use the Spoolmatic 30A with .023 stainless?

Thanks,
      Roger
      Hello Roger, and welcome to the Forum.

Do you have the .023 drive rolls in? How about the contact tip size? Is that an M-25 gun?

How about the liner, is it an .035 liner? Also, check the liner distance to the drive rolls, should be just close enough, NOT to rub the drive rolls.