Tig root pass on carbon steel pipe

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tig root pass on carbon steel pipe

I am fairly new to welding, at least pipe. I am currently trying to get my certs for pipe so I can get a job up north at the Chevron Oil Refinery but Im having some trouble getting enough penetration on the root. My root looks great on the outside but on the inside it looks slightly sucked back and I cant seem to get it no matter how many different ways I try. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

What I do:
    3/32” tungsten very long sharp point
    Knife edge, no land at all
    3/32” Gap
    1/8” filler
    100-amps for root, just break the filler down, don’t weave the tungsten past the width of the filler, and move fast!
    Do not increase the amps more than 10 to 15-amps for the hot pass or you’ll get suck back.
    Attached Files
    Caution!
    These are "my" views based only on “my” experiences in “my” little bitty world.

Comment

Sonora,
      Just wondering, how do you get a good root if your filler is bigger than your gap? Don't you need to feed to the back of the ID side of the pipe for proper root fusion?
      "When the wise old rooster crows, the smart young rooster listens."

Comment

No questions please!
        I’m just a trigger puller!
        Caution!

Comment

Originally posted by jasonspoon View Post
          Sonora,
          Just wondering, how do you get a good root if your filler is bigger than your gap? Don't you need to feed to the back of the ID side of the pipe for proper root fusion?
          Nope. That is pretty well identical to my style as well. You can make some minor variations to suit your own level of experience. Those pictures show there is plenty of material flowing to the inside of the pipe. It just takes a little practise and experimentation to figure out what works for you.

Comment

Originally posted by jasonspoon View Post
            Sonora,