Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• consumables for Hypertherm Powermax 600

Hi

I picked up a used Hypertherm Powermax 600 and I am new to plasma cutters. I'm thinking of stocking up on some consumables on eBay. I was wondering which wears out the most?

Is it the shield, retaining cap, nozzle, electrode or the swirl ring?

Thanks!

I believe the nozzle and electrodes are the most replaced followed by the shield. According to my LWS swirl rings and retainers are least replaced (and expensive to boot).

Comment

I get my Hypertherm consumables here http://www.hypermax.org/index.html
      MM200 w/spot controller and Spoolmatic 1
      Syncrowave 180 SD
      Bobcat 225G Plus LPG/NG w/14-pin*
      *Homemade Suitcase Wire Feeder
      *HF-251D-1
      *WC-1S & Spoolmatic 1
      PakMaster 100XL
      Marquette "Star Jet" 21-110
      http://www.millerwelds.com/images/sm...rolleyes.png?2

Comment

Have it on Hand

Elecrodes and tips is what you want to stock. And when you do replace them, do it in pairs. Cups last a long time. I never had to replace a cup or swirl ring in eight years. But I do stock them just in case I drop the torch or something falls on it, and it gets broken or dented. I use the ICE 50C torch and I stock the extended and standard tips, electrodes and cups..

Comment

'And when you do replace them, do it in pairs.'

Why?

Comment

Replace them as a set (electrode,and the tip) or pair the pairs deal is confusing to newbes as I just checked my email and a person that frequents this site but new to the metal work/art field was in a panic (4 separate emails in 30 minutes) because they couldn't find the pairs that is talked about in this thread.

Not correcting anybody but when people think of a pair as two of something or something with two openings. A set is a number of items that go together.
            They couldn't find anything other than o rings that looked like they would be a pair in the drawing of their torch.