Buying my book?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Buying my book?

I have been told by two of my foremen and a superintendent that I should buy my book. The jobs that I have been on have all ended with me doing the foremen job but because I was an apprentice I could not get the title. I am not big into titles, but I have found that it is hard to play the part of foremen when you are an apprentice. To many Journeymen feel that they can’t allow an apprentice to lead. When I first heard about this I thought it sounded a little hinky. But now that I have people all over that want to call me up, but can’t due to my status, I am will to try. So my question is.
    Where do I go to buy my book? I don’t want thinks like “you should go to your local union hall.” This does me no good. I need to know what Locals are willing to sell a book, and what is the criteria needed.

Thanks

Rob Starke
    Yes, If you have the experience.
    18.75%
    Yes, but only in your own Local
    0.00%
    No, there is alot to learn as an apprentice
    81.25%
    No, I went through it, so should you.
    0.00%
    Rob Starke
    Lincoln Square Wave TIG 175 Pro (broke)
    Panasonic PANA-Auto KR350 (like the Deltaweld, but old)
    Shindaiwa SMAW welder/Generator X2
    Hobart portable spot welder LG013747
    Miller Spectrum 375 X-Tream (plasma cutter)
    Miller Bobcat 225 8000 watt Generator Welder
    Miller Big 40 Diesel Welding Power Generator

Don't see why you need a book just walk into your local and say you want to be the boss...Bob
    Bob Wright

Comment

Buying a book depends on the local, never seen it anywhere where someone bought a book without proving at least 4-years experience in that particular trade. Some times a letter from an employer that will guarantee you 30-days work will help you buy a book. I’m sure there are exceptions tho!
      Caution!
      These are "my" views based only on “my” experiences in “my” little bitty world.

Comment

"Status?"