cst280 wiring

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• cst280 wiring

Hello, I bought a cst280 used a while back and now I am trying to wire it. I am a noob when it comes to electricity so I followed the wiring diagram for LS1 to black, LS2 to white and LS3 to red. But I am getting no power at the unit. I looked through the trouble shooting guide in the owners guide, and it stated that the if the green LED is not lit up there is no power to unit, so checked the breakers which were fine, checked the input voltage selector and it was on the 220 1phase setting, I checked the process selector to make sure it was correctly set and now I am out of problem solving ideas. So I am assuming it is the wiring, any help would be great, thanks,

Kyle

Here is the owners manual:
    http://www.millerwelds.com/om/o217655l_mil.pdf

and below is how I have it set up.
    Attached Files

For single phase and for that plug, do not use the white. Hook the black and red to the LS1 and LS2. Tape off the white so it doesn't touch anything. Green or bare is still chassis ground, of course.

Why is the red thicker? Is it taped and used to be a different color? Is that a molded-in-place plug or did you assemble it onto a piece of SO cord?

You should have a voltmeter. Cheap tool. Check, and I'm thinking you have 120V between black or red and the white, and 240V between black and red if that plug is being used in its designed configuration.
    Last edited by MAC702; 06-27-2009, 02:42 PM.

Comment

It is a molded plug and the red wire is the same size, just in the foreground a bit which is making it look a little bigger. I do have a multimeter but I am paranoid that I will blow the works up Thanks for the help, I will try it shortly and let you know how I make out.

Comment

The Red and Black are defiantly 240v. I removed the white wire and wrapped it, then tried it, with no luck and I also tried placing the red wire where the white wire is and still no luck.

Comment