Dynasty 200 DX on aluminum

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dynasty 200 DX on aluminum

My machine is new and I was experimenting trying to weld the bottom of a soda can, it can be done somewhat but not to my satisfaction, there is a clear coating on it which degrades the weld, I cant get the current to go low enough, it says 5 amps in the manual and it is set correctly in the menu, It is reading 7 amps at 20 cycles, which is close, as the cycles increase to 250 it goes up to 12 amps. I was just wondering if this is normal? This isnt needed, just playing with the machine and wondering if anyone has any input on this.
    It will weld perfectly on .030 aluminum tube I had in the shop with .062 filler.

mike sr
    mike sr

Did you re-set you start parameters as well? Just wondering...I'm no expert in this area either but I have done that and it helps with the welding on micro thin stuff which I absolutely hate but cannot seem to get out of
    It should go to rock bottom and stay there unless you make it increase.

www.facebook.com/outbackaluminumwelding
    Miller Dynasty 700...OH YEA BABY!!
    MM 350P...PULSE SPRAYIN' MONSTER
    Miller Dynasty 280 with AC independent expansion card
    Miller Dynasty 200 DX "Blue Lightning"

Miller Bobcat 225 NT (what I began my present Biz with!)
    Miller 30-A Spoolgun
    Miller WC-115-A
    Miller Spectrum 300
    Miller 225 Thunderbolt (my first machine bought new 1980)
    Miller Digital Elite Titanium 9400

Comment

Originally posted by FusionKing View Post
      Did you re-set you start parameters as well? Just wondering...I'm no expert in this area either but I have done that and it helps with the welding on micro thin stuff which I absolutely hate but cannot seem to get out of
      It should go to rock bottom and stay there unless you make it increase.
      Fusion,