Cerium

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cerium

Gday! I am a professional welder and have been using my Miller Synchrowave 350 for years. So, I have always used two types of Tungsten for welding, thoriated and zirconiated. I notice Cerium Tungstens....What are these for?
    Kind Regards,
    Mark
    Mark Koennecke
    K and A Engineering
    Adelaide, South Australia
    www.kandaengineering.com.au
    stores.ebay.com.au/K-and-A-Engineering

Link

Here is a link right from the Miller site. Hope it is what you are looking for.

http://www.millerwelds.com/education...rticles83.html

Here is one from ArcZone

http://www.arc-zone.com/pdf/SelectingTungsten.pdf

Jerry in Anchorage

Comment

For the transformer machine you have your using about the best. The ceriated and lanthanated are predominantly used for Inverter welding machines. Zirk and thoria are the main stays for your machine but the ceriated has grown in favor due to thoria being a radioactive material and people are becoming more aware of carcinagins in their lives and its links to cancer.

Hope this helps some,
      Paul

Comment

That is some good info Jerry, thanks fort posting those links........

mike sr
        mike sr

Comment

Ceriated tungstens light off easier than thoriated. But they can't take quite as much heat as thoriated. That is the trade off.

Real good for extremely thin stuff.

80% of failures are from 20% of causes
          Never compromise your principles today in the name of furthering them in the future.
          "All I ever wanted was an honest week's pay for an honest day's work." -Sgt. Bilko
          "We are generally better persuaded by reasons we discover ourselves than by those given to us by others." -Pascal
          "Since we cannot know all that there is to be known about anything, we ought to know a little about everything." -Pascal

Comment

I'm a big fan of 2% lanthanated as it holds its point well even on the high end of its weld amperage.