MAG Drill

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MAG Drill

Hello & good morning to all . . . . OK, I got up late . . .

I'm needing input on who makes the best MAG drill for my purpose.

Reason I need it amongst other tools . . .

I am a hobby welder & tinkerer.

I will soon be facing unemployment in my field.

I am trying to "tool up" for metal & woodworking prior to then. The wife & I plan to start doing craft shows in the coming years. One of my planned purchases is a Hypertherm Plasma cutter. I really want a CNC Plasma table, but cannot afford to spend $10,000 to $15,000 for one. So, I will build my own.I have determined that the only way to drill perfectly square holes in heavy long pieces of square tube would be a MAG drill after watching other table builders do the same.

The reason for the long lead in is I know with so much knowledge here the more I tell you guys as to what I am doing the more info I will end up with, kinda like the guy that says "he has a simple electrical" question on here . . . And then the info comes in volumes. Is there a better way to drill and tap dozens & dozens of holes in a 8' long piece of 4X4 3/16" square tube in exactly the right spot . . . . Typically the the bolts will be under 1/2". . .
    Millermatic 251
    Lincoln AC/DC "Tombstone"
    Milwaulkee Grinder 4 1/2"
    Clark Grinder 4 1/2"

Originally posted by Wacko Welder View Post
    Is there a better way to drill and tap dozens & dozens of holes in a 8' long piece of 4X4 3/16" square tube in exactly the right spot . . . . Typically the the bolts will be under 1/2". . .