Aluminum piping > my welding...need a little input

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aluminum piping > my welding...need a little input

Hey everyone, this site is amazing and there are a lot of very talented people on here. Big thumbs up!!

Anyways, heres the problem I'm having. I'm attempting to weld up some .065 6061 aluminum piping for an intercooler project that I'm working on. On the side of the pipe (or any piece of aluminum), I can run an amazing bead without any problem at all. However, when I try to weld the pipes together, I just blow out the side/edge of the pipe.

I clean all the pipe with some 400 grit sandpaper, dedicated SS brush for AL, and then wipe it down with denatured alcohol....in other words, the parts are clean.

I'm running an econotig (I know ), 3/32 2%, ~20 CFH of 100% argon, and I've played with the heat anywhere from 50-85amps.

What do I need to do?

thanks guys

forgot to add I'm using 1/16 4043 rod

Comment

Mark

I'm not very good at it either but i"ve found holding the torch close to 90 degrees from the work and keeping the rod above and dipping in to get started after you see wetting of both pieces. Once you have it tacked if holding the torch at almost 90 degrees you can watch the puddle and add the rod for the proper overlay of filler. Once there is fusion on both pieces its wetting and adding filler into the puddle, watching closely for adession on both pieces then adding more filler and continuing on.

Comment

well yeah welding two pieces of AL together is a different ball of wax than running a stringer bead. too many people who have never done aluminum run a couple flat beads and say "eh... what's the big deal with AL, this is easy."

how big is the gap you are trying to bridge between the two pieces of pipe? for 1/16" wall tubing, it should be nearly 0 gap. you can't expect to bridge a huge gap with thin-wall AL tubing, especially if you are a novice at AL.