Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie To The Forums

Hello All,

I figured I would introduce myself before I start firing questions. I am in my last semester of a two year welding program in Iowa. So far I have done just about everything that the school offers so I am getting down to the kinda obsure stuff.
    My instructor at school referred me to this site to ask about Stainless Steel SMAW. There isn't much information in our text books so any would be greatly appreciated. My instructor wants me to research the different electrodes there are and also any advise on technique would be greatly appreciated!
    Second question would be about finding jobs. My city was devastiated by a flood last summer and so any construction jobs that are left are usually given to illegal immigrants. I am looking to move to Dallas but any suggestions on other cities would be great!

Thanks All!

Can't help you with stainless, but thought I'd say Hi and welcome to the forum. I've seen first hand the flood damage you talked about. It was quite a mess, and still is. Had to deal with a lot of that myself (not at home, at work). As far as welding jobs, seems like ADM always has something going on there. Got a buddy that is a foreman of a construction crew working there (Iron workers local #89) and he always talks about the "cheap labor" (trying to be politically correct here) and that all they know how to run is a fork and their mouths. Might be worth looking into for the time being, heck might end up being a good gig for someone that wants to actually work and try to make a difference. Just a thought......Take care

Comment

Hello and welcome. I just saw a thread on this on another site. I'll look for it and pm a link for you.

Comment