Help - Syncro 250 Has No GTAW Output

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help - Syncro 250 Has No GTAW Output

I have a low hour Syncro 250 that I bought used about 3 years ago. I had intentions then to learn how to Tig weld and to start actively using it but I was distracted and didn't. Instead, it has sat in my dry and heated basement since then.

I've now decided its time to fire it up and get started but there's a problem which could be me the operator.

I got everything connected but there doesn't seem to be any Tig output. When I step on the footpedal the HF works fine but it seems to stay in HF mode only. Tried recleaning the area where it was grounded which made no difference. The torch and cables are all brand new as well.

I switched over to stick mode to see if it worked and had output which it does...in both DC+ and AC.

I'm a complete novice with this machine and thought I'd ask this group if my problem sounds like something familiar?

Is there something else I should check?

I appreciate this groups help.

Thanks.

Dom

I think I may have solved my own problem.

As I was switching back to TIG mode and was reconnecting the power adapter I decided to reclean with sandpaper the back of it where it makes contact with the output lug of the welder and that seems to have been the problem.

When I fired the welder back up I not only had HF but power to melt metal.

Now I just need to learn how to Tig which means you'll probably hear more from me.

Thanks for listening.

Dom

Comment

I spoke too soon.

My welder worked fine in Tig mode all day yesterday and all day today right up until I decided to install my cable cover to tidy things up. I moved the welders position but didn't unhook any cables or connections.

When I went to practice after installing the cable cover all I got was HF and no power. I took the power adapter off and recleaned it but it didn't make any difference.