sewer tank

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• sewer tank

I got a call to cut a trap door on the top of a sewer tank so a vac truck can get in and suck out the crap! I have never worked on a sewer tank before and thought about methane gas as soon as I was done on the phone, I phoned the guy back and asked if there was a chance of build up of methane gas, he didnt really know. So my thoughts are, if I get there and it has sewer in it, it should have methane gas, which could means I could go BANG!! Of course if its a new tank, then no problem. If I am not sure I'll get them to take the top of(if it can) and cut the hatch out out of harms way. So have any of you guys cut a hatch out of a sewer tank and if so what did you to make sure you where safe?? I could have the guy stand on the tank while I cut/weld, that helps when guys arent sure if there is a chance of blowing up, I have done it at gas plants before and it seems to work well anyways what do you guys think?
    DODGE 1 TON 6.7
    PIPEPRO 304
    TO MANY TOOLS
    JUST WELDING IN CIRCLES
    rig welders are like wheelbarrows hard to push around
    and easily upset
    go flames go

are you going to use a torch? i'd go with a chop saw and if you can a water hose with just a little spray to keep the sparks down. (if it had to be done)
    TB 325
    TB 302
    dynasty 200sd
    spoolmatic 30a/wc24
    suitcase x-treme 12vs
    miller 211
    evolution rage 2

Comment

i forgot we use concrete sewer tanks down here. still use chop saw with diamond blade but if its steel a steel blade. hope that gives you some more ideas.
      TB 325
      TB 302
      dynasty 200sd
      spoolmatic 30a/wc24
      suitcase x-treme 12vs
      miller 211
      evolution rage 2

Comment