Hand-operated electronic TIG amperage control

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hand-operated electronic TIG amperage control

I am considering designing a hand control for a TIG torch. I've purchased a couple of different hand controls that are out there, and frankly I'm disappointed in all of them. Basically they all suck in one way or another. Lack of a smooth on/off transition, and lack of precision being my chief complaints.

I am proposing this because I am really not a welder by trade. I am a electronics and software engineer. So building a remote hand control is the type of thing I actually do for a living.

The hand control I want to design would be a precision made remote amperage control that electronically regulates TIG welding current, and allows electronic start/stop of the welding current. The idea is to give the operator better control at the torch without needing a foot pedal for out of position welds.

1. It would be weld-by-wire (ala fly-by-wire). That is, the knob that attaches to the TIG torch and rotates, would not be a potentiometer that regulates the welding current. Instead, the knob would be a precision rotary encoder that sends signals electronic signals to a small electronic control box located next to the welding machine. The control box reads these signals from the rotary encoder and adjusts the welding current electronically.

2. The rotary encoder mounted on the TIG torch would be an industrial grade precision encoder with a resolution of 64 steps per revolution. Very smooth to turn, high precision, good feel and feedback through the knob.

3. You would "push" the rotary encoder knob (push perpendicular to the rotating direction) to start and stop the torch. Push once to start, weld, push again to stop.