Recommendations Please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Recommendations Please

I am relatively new to the TIG process. I have had the Dyn 200DX since April; however, do not get to practice nearly as much as I would like (or should).
    I am comfortable with steel (not good, just comfortable). Getting somewhat comfortable with Aluminum (around 0.125 thick).
    I tried some thin Aluminum today (0.025 thick). It can best be described as a disaster (cluster **** --- you know). Anyway, to the question. What would be a good starting point in settings for me?

I tried amps from 40 to 90 in 5 amp increments.
    My gas is pure Ar at 15 CFH.
    I was using 3/32 Lant. tung. ground correctly to a pencil-like point with a tiny flat on the end.
    I tried balance settings from 50 to 80 in 5% increments.
    I tried freqs from 60 to 120 in 10 Hz increments.
    The filler was 1/16 4043.
    I cleaned the metal with a black Carbide rotating stripper (from Covel (sp) video) followed by a good brushing with a dedicated SS brush.
    I had the pieces laying on a 1/2 inch thick plate of Aluminum and had the material to be welded clamped to hold it flat.

The best results (if you could call it that) occurred at around 60% and 120Hz and 70 amps.

My biggest problems were burnthroughs (no revelation there). I was not able to go for more than about 3/4 inch without burning through. I played with the pedal to attempt to prevent the burnthroughs, & observed the beads cooling quickly. I also tried some beads on the flat stock without attempting a joint. Just beads on a flat piece. That was quite a bit better, but nothing to write home about.

Overall, quite a humbling experience. Frustrating too.

I have a foot pedal, & a 20 size watercooled torch.

I don't have a clue what grade of Aluminum it was -- Lowes stuff. But, it was clean.

I realize that I need to practice more; but, a better idea of where to start may be of great benefit to me.