Any need help on welding Aluminum w/mig?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Rob'swelding
    • Nov 2008

Any need help on welding Aluminum w/mig?

Just thought I would post that. I would be more than happy to help.
    I use a Millermatic 180 w/ spoolgun attachment, .035 4043 wire.

Let me know I'll do my best too help you!

Rob
  • LewisCobb
    • May 2008

Originally posted by Rob'swelding View Post
    Just thought I would post that. I would be more than happy to help.
    I use a Millermatic 180 w/ spoolgun attachment, .035 4043 wire.

Let me know I'll do my best too help you!

Rob
    Hi Rob - greetings from the east coast of Canada where we are getting our first snowstorm of the year.

I don't need any help -I am a newbie with a stick/tig machine - but my buddy (another newbie) is considering getting a MIG with a spool gun. We were wondering what's the trade off with tig or mig/spoolgun approaches to welding aluminum? Is the MIG better for thicker sections, or just faster etc?

Thanks !

Lewis

Comment

• Rob'swelding
      • Nov 2008

Well, I think the answer to both of your questions would be more of what you have already. Welding thick material would have to do w/amperage rating of the welder not mig or tig. For instance, My mig can weld up to about quarter inch w/ preheat. My machine is the Millermatic 180 (220volt)w/spool gun. Now...setup for me is kind of a lil work, you see I usually use this Mig machine for solid wire or fluxcore.....so, that means I gotta change the polarity, the gun assembly,the gas bottle and the gauges. But if you had a tig set up you could set up rather quickly for aluminum. To get a nice weld bead appearance you gotta get it dialed in for "Spray arc" basiclly turn up the amperage and the wire speed till you hear a hissin sound not fry bacon sound. I would say tig is better! Mig is faster.
      Hope I answered it for ya!

Comment

• LewisCobb
        • May 2008

Originally posted by Rob'swelding View Post