Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions on Carbon Arc

Hi,

Thanks for any replies in advance! Any information, experiences and general knowledge would be greatly appreciated!

I'm new to carbon arc gouging. I have only been using this process for about four months now while at work. At work, I use a Miller Dimension 400 with an Arc Air K4000, shop supplied air and all the various electrode sizes. I especially like the speed and accuracy of removing welds and plates.

I own a 2003 Miller Bobcat 225/8500KW. I was contemplating on purchasing an Arc Air K4000 for side work/home. I mostly perform repairs on buckets, hoppers, heavy equipment and such.

My questions:

Is my welder capable of running carbon arc if so does anyone know the limitations of it? Would the K4000 be overkill for the amps my unit makes? Maybe try a K3000 or something less? Any electrode size recommendations for this unit if it will work?

I wanted to ask before I waste my hard-earned $$$ on something that will not do the job.

Thanks Again!
    Miller Suitcase 12VS
    Miller 225 Bobcat
    Miller 30A Spool Gun & Aluminum WC Box
    Lincoln SP-200 "Ezmeralda"
    Lincoln SP-100 (Sold)
    1970's Era Sears-Farm AC/220 "Invincible" (Sold)
    Parker Plasma 40
    Tig Torch "One day, one day, I must learn to use"

3/16 rod. All you gotta do is look.

http://www.millerwelds.com/products/...en/bobcat_225/
    2- XMT's 350 cc/cv
    1- Blue star 185
    1- BOBCAT 250
    1- TRAILBLAZER 302
    1- MILLER DVI
    2- PASSPORT PLUS
    1- DYNASTY 200 DX
    1- DYNASTY 280 DX
    1- MAXSTAR 150 STL
    1- HF-251 BOX
    1- S-74D
    1- S-75DXA
    2- 12-RC SUITCASES
    1- 8-VS SUITCASE
    2- 30 A SPOOLGUNS

Comment

Fabricator, Thanks for the reply!

I was not sure if the capabilities (duty cycle, real amp output) of the older machines were the same as the new upgraded machines they make now.