mig movement for good welds

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• mig movement for good welds

I saw some pics in the resources section on mig welds that looked like they were tig welded.

I have been searching for an article or website that shows the different movements like circular or half moons to make a good looking weld.

Also, what would produce a stronger weld. I have read circles are not as good because your re heating your weld when you circle back.

If you have pics of welds and the movement or a like that would be awesome. I just cant find it anywhere.
    mm 210
    dynasty 200dx

Well this is strictly my preference and I am not a wlder by trade I am self taught trial by fire so take it for what it's worth, when I MIG I tend to travel the gun in a shallow cresent movement which does tend to make a really nice looking weld in my opinion, now as far as strength I have never had a weld crack or fail visible, but like I said I am not formally trained like some of the guys on here.

I have a post in projects section titled critique my MIG welds and you can see the result.

Hope this helped
    MILLER 180 W SPOOL GUN
    MIller CP 300 w/S22-A Feeder
    Miller Syncro 200
    Miller 375 X Plasma
    Miller Elite Hood
    JD2 Bender
    Tube Notcher
    Horizontal/ Verticle Bandsaw
    Makita Angle Grinders
    Arsenal of handtools
    Evolution Raptor dry saw
    Single Stage 60 Gallon Compressor
    Delta Drill Press

"No fear to learn by doing", and a degree in Redneck Engineering

Comment

I did see that the other day and no one said it was bad so maybe that means its good.

thanks
      mm 210
      dynasty 200dx

Comment

Originally posted by superdave99gt View Post
        I did see that the other day and no one said it was bad so maybe that means its good.

thanks