Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Welding certs-journymen

Hey guys, I need some advice about a couple of things so here goes,

(1)I have 15-20yrs welding all phase, self taught-trail and error way now I am looking for a new job do to getting laid off and some of the companys want to know if I have any certs(NO I DO NOT) So should I take the test for them or not and keep pluggin away like I have been?

(2)What ones would be good to start with and improve from there?

(3)Should I do them online or go to the schools closest to my home which is in southern Michigan-Indiana stateline?

(4)I think I have alot of knowledge for learning on my own but I've never been really tested on what I know to see where I'm at in skill levels according to AWS standards other then a couple of places I have worked at I was listed as a (class-A-1-Welder) but haven't paid much attention to that in years to worry about until now.

What do you guys think and what would you do in this matter?

Thanks for your input
    Safetydave.
    Syncrowave 250/Coolmate-3-(home)
    RMS-14 (kisser button)-(home)
    Craftmans/S-K tools-(home)
    Grizzly 16" vert band saw-(home)
    DeWalt chop saw-(home)
    Craftsman 4"-7" hand grinders
    Lincoln 225 arc welder
    Lots of vise clamps(not enough)
    assortment bar clamps

What to do

SafetyDave,
    I would find the closest tech. school or Community college that has welding and explaine the situation to the instructors. I would ask them if I can take the test. They should charge a couple bucks for it and see if you can qualify for the " certification" that they offer a student. They may want you to take the class and if so do it, all you can get is more information.