Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Abrasive Cut off saw Advice

Hi everyone -

I need some advice on buying a saw - I have looked at makita, ridged, millwaukee, princess auto (powerfist) and a lot of other off brands.

I'm planning on cutting doing 2x3 rectangle, maybe 4x4 square (kids want a basketball hoop made), various angle. I'm a hobbyist/handyman type.

I have found on basically every single machine I looked at the crappiest design for cutting angles. How can a bolt with a line pointing to a guide on the machine come anywhere close to being accurate at angles? Am I missing something here?

My makita wood saw has locks at various angles (left & right) plus locks for side to side tilt for installing crown molding. After doing crown in my house I am absolutely convinced that if you saw is 1 degree out your f*%cked.

Band saw is not in the budget. Would it be possible to put an abrasive blade in my wood saw and use that? I'm sure my $500 makita would be very accurate I just don't want to blow it up.

Any advise would be awesome!

Most of the abrasive chop saws have nothing to do with accuracy, it about getting you in the ball park. If you are off 5-10 degrees with a wood miter saw it will show up instantly, if you are 5-10 degrees off with a chop saw, it just means a wider gap that has to be filled with the welder. I bought a Milwaukee dry cut saw with a carbide blade, and haven't used the abrasive saw since, but the cut-off saw I have is also a Milwaukee, and has the cast iron base, which IMHO, offers a more stable cutting platform. Most of the major brands are about the same, you have to look at them and decide which has the features you want. If you are looking for a high precision tool, an abrasive cut-off saw itsn't it.

Jack

Comment