Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi, All! New Guy; Couple Questions

Greetings, Everyone!

I'm totally new to welding. Been browsing the forums and tutorials here, and found a site called weldingtipsandtricks.com that I've been reading.

I'm interested in welding, as a hobbyist, to help me with projects I want to make. I'm skilled in woodworking. 53 year old airline captain. I love to create and make things...so that all important question "what do you plan to weld?" is probably best answered "anything and everything that seems like fun". And my creative streak usually leads me all over the place so I've found it's better that I get good equipment when I buy, because I'm likely to be led all over the place with ideas I want to try. I've been browsing the project photos and there are so many things in there that I think "man, I wish I could do THAT".

Because of my job, I work a lot of weekends, so it's gonna be tough getting live training in welding...and I know I need that. But I'm wondering how far I can get with training videos. I might try to contact a welding instructor and pay him for private instruction if my scedule won't allow anything else.

I'm enthusiastic about getting started. Money isn't a huge problem (I'll bite the bullet and spend for the right thing. I guess my max budget is around $5000 or a little more, but that has to include welder, safety gear, cutting and grinding tools, a drill press, etc.), but buying the right stuff initially is confusing. Only thing I know for sure is I'm gonna get the top Miller helmet, good gloves, and all other needed safety stuff. I have an air compressor, mainly for airing up tires and blowing out the shop. I really dislike having to pressurize the thing every time I use it. But some air tools might(?) be smart?