<--- Tig ****** - needs a little guidance

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• <--- Tig ****** - needs a little guidance

OK, so I admit it. Never held a tig torch in my hand, but I decided I will tomorrow. I know I will get grief about how I should take classes and wait for the moon to be in the right position and all that but...

I never really listen or read the instructions till after I mess it up so why change now? I did teach myself stick & mig and I hold my own. Of course, I am no expert and still learning every day.

But, help me out.

I have a maxstar 150 stl. I bought it about 6 months ago because it was so portable and I needed it for some small stick repairs on a few jobs (houses I was building). When I bought it, used but basically new, the guy sent me a regulator, tig torch, foot pedal and some misc cups and tungsten...

Hmmm... I tried to rig the foot pedal to my pickup truck but it still wouldn't go any faster, so it must have something to do with tigging!

What would be the best set up for running a few cherry busting beads. I have plenty of 1/8 to 3/16 mild scrap. I have a straight Ar, but I can use the 75/25 from my mig for steel right? He sent some filler rods too, but not sure what they are, kinda copper coated, not ss.

Just thought someone who uses this little welder could give me some practical how to... I have read a bit so I do have some idea.

Don't worry, when I get hooked on yet another thing and need to spend tall coin for yet another welder, I will not blame you!

Thanks in advance,
    Last edited by Handy560; 03-08-2008, 12:15 AM. Reason: because I can't type...
    John

Thunderbolt AC/DC
    MM 175
    Maxstar 150 STL
    Blue Star 185 DX
    Spectrum 375

tig welding isnt hard to do if its just welding some basic house projects.its welding critical applications that take years of practice.