Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie Signing In

Hello everyone.

I am a newbie. I've welded a total of about 30 seconds in my life. I have a collection of broken things that could use some welding, which I normally take to my brother in law (2 1/2 hours away). Anyways, it's getting old. It wouldn't hurt for me to learn how to weld and fix my own stuff when it breaks.

My foreseen projects are mangling/fixing implements for my new tractor, putting a tire carrier on my flatbed trailer, fixing some rust holes in my old beat up truck. Aluminum welding at this point would be a curiosity.

I currently have no welder, but am surfing the classifieds for a MIG around the 200 amp range. I currently have my eyes on a MM185 which has all the goodies with it (roughneck gun, helmet, tank, jacket, gloves, and steel) and a MM210 (with standard items). If I buy new, it'll probably be a MM180 and get the spool gun for $120 for aluminum welding (just in case). But somehow I think I would be happier with something slightly larger than a 180.

And I do have a digital camera for posting pictures.

Anyways that's my story.
    Last edited by d_todd_phelps; 03-04-2008, 08:52 AM. Reason: Added a line.

Welcome aboard, Todd.

There's plenty of knowledge here, free for the asking. Looking forward to those project pics!

Hank
    ...from the Gadget Garage
    Millermatic 210 w/3035, BWE
    Handler 210 w/DP3035
    TA185TSW
    Victor O/A "J" series, SuperRange

Comment