Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What is the best way to weld this thick plate on homemade log splitter?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is the best way to weld this thick plate on homemade log splitter?

As you can see we're down to the final stretch on "Homemade Log Splitter Project" Everything is tacked and getting ready to have some fun.

Looking for opinions on the best way to weld this together. GMAW or SMAW?

Main question is welding the wedge to the beam. I want this to be rock solid for obvious reasons. I hope the beveling is obvious from the pics. The wedge is 1 1/4" thick getting welded to the beam that is 5/8" thick on top. I know preheat here will be important, but how much? And how do you tell the temp.?

Stick will give better penetration, right? but can I weld this with my MM251 and get the same end result.

I have .035 solid and .045 solid wire. I also have some Trimark Triple 7 flux core. (I've never used it before) It says, "An excellent choice for a variety of heavy fabrication applications, Triple 7 wire is suitable for use in industries that work with heavy plate or heavy gauge steels such as shipbuilding, railcar and pressure vessel fabrication, along with certain types of pipe welding applications.

If some of you guys think the 251 won't cut it and stick is the only way to go then why?? If it has to be SMAW then what kind of rods??

Any thoughts and opinions would be appreciated. Thanks. Marshall
    Attached Files

Stick with what you know best.

Your 251 will work just fine. LWS has temp sticks preheat to 250f-350f and weld till you have a 1/2"-5/8" fillet on the wedge, and fill the rest to full thickness with a 1/16"-1/8" cap.

Good luck
    TJ______________________________________

Comment

looks good, just be shore the lil hand is out of the way.

anyone ever tell ya you have little girly hand's.
      thanks for the help
      ......or..........
      hope i helped
      sigpic