Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

ESAB, Smith, or Victor (Thermadyne) Oxy Outfit?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ESAB, Smith, or Victor (Thermadyne) Oxy Outfit?

Hello.

I am new to this message board. From reading the posts, I know that there is a lot of knowledge here. I am seeking some guidance on gas welding equipment.

Out of the these outfits, which do you recommend? I am not looking to save a buck. I would rather purchase something that is good quality, will last a long time, and will endure some heavy use for a higher price.
    • ESAB OXWELD Trade Master Outfit DLX 540/510 (18835)
    • Smith DUAL GUARDâ„¢ HEAVY DUTY CUTTING, WELDING & BRAZING OUTFITS (HD-H510A)
    • Victor XHD Journeyman 510 w/H315FC (0384-2009)? Thank you.

Thank you for your time and response.
    earle

I prefer Harris which is what I have owned for 20+ years, however of the ones you list my vote would go to the Victor model. Harris and Victor are around here considered the top dogs. I have had one regulator diaphram go out and cracked the brazing tip holder but other than that my harris has served me well for 20 years. I wouldn't go ESAB as I believe they have cheapened themselves to retail establishments.

In the end its your money, we all have opinions.

Comment

i have always had great luck with Victor also. never had any problems with them, own 2.
      smith is also well spoken for in many area's. before you chose , look to see what is best serviced in your area. availability of tip's, parts, service. if you intend to send it in for servicing, one might be done locally the other may need to be sent out or wait on seals wile the other would be done over night (so to speak)
      a search on the subject will get you more info also.
      good luck and welcome to the sits
      thanks for the help
      ......or..........
      hope i helped
      sigpic
      feel free to shoot me an e-mail direct i have time to chat. [email protected]