Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie: Exhaust Fabrication using a MIG?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie: Exhaust Fabrication using a MIG?

Hi all,

I'm planning on investing in a light duty MIG Welder for fabricating my own exhaust system and intercooler charge air intake pipes etc.

I'm totally new to welding, however, I'm a quick learner and determined to teach myself by investing a lot of time reading and practising before I attempt the fabrication on my own car.

My first project will be a custom exhaust for a twin turbo application on a horizontally opposed 6cyl (911 Turbo motor).

I'm researching different types of MIGs for this application and am wondering if you more experienced welders can give me some advice and direction. I was looking at a gas/gasless MIG, anywhere between 135A to 170A with as many adjustments as possible within my budget. I'm a total newbie, so I don't want to spend a lot of money *yet* on a high-end MIG welder. My budget is around the $700-$1k mark.

The exhaust system will be fabricated in mild or stainless steel.. probably mild initially so I get practise and proper fitment. When it eventually ends up rusting, I'll then re-fabricate it with stainless steel after getting more experience.

Am I looking at the right type of MIG for this application, or should I look at an even lower powered unit, such as a 100A unit? I intend to do it with gas for better/cleaner welds and will tack it all up on the car first for proper fitment before attempting the final weld.

Attached are some pics of a very similar exhaust system to what I'm contemplating for my car.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I'm really excited to delve into the world of fabrication, even though I'm employed in the I.T Security arena.

Thanks in advance
    Attached Files

If it was me i would go with a MM180 and the gas so you can do nice work...Bob
    Bob Wright

Comment

Thanks, Bob, for your speedy reply.