Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Finally getting the hang of Aluminum TIG!! (Pics)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finally getting the hang of Aluminum TIG!! (Pics)

I'm a college student, been doing TIG on and off for about a year now. Haven't had the time / money for formal training, and TIG is the only welding I've done, so my experience is limited. Learned a heck of a lot from these forums though. Had played around with some aluminum over the summer, and finally welded up some parts over the past week. Not the best results, but for my 1st- and 2nd-ever "real" parts (rather than just sample coupons) I was pretty happy.

Machine: '80s Syncrowave 350
    Material: 6061, .058 - .125" thick
    Tungsten: 3/32" 2% Lanthanated (I love this stuff), ground to a blunt point
    Amperage: 125amp setpoint, don't think I ever used near that much though.
    AC Balance: 7.5
    Filler: 1/16" and 3/32" R4043

Baffles - Stitch weld internal baffles for a dry-sump oil reservoir. Kinda big and ugly, tough to get filler and torch oriented properly in there.

Top, after weld - Top of dry-sump reservoir after welding.

Top, cleaned up - Same as above, but cleaned up with some scotch brite.

Bottom, after weld - Bottom of dry sump tank

Bottom, cleaned - Same as above, cleaned up with scotch brite

Flange fillet weld - Fuel pump access flange for a fuel tank, .058" sheet to .125" machined flange.

Flange cleaned up - Post weld with scotch brite. The corner welds on the gas tank are kinda ugly (they were my first real aluminum beads) so I didn't show them

Any comments / observations? Does it look like I'm doin things roughly right or are there some blatant wrong-doings?

I'd really like the ME department to get rid of that honkin big, loud old Syncrowave in the cramped welding shop and get a Dynasty. I'd really like to play around on one of those.