X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Shnitzlhaus
    • Jul 2010

1940's Willys CJ2A

hi I am a student (19yr old) going to be working on a Willys CJ2A to bring it back to life the way I want it.

before I dive into the body work I am practicing my welds.
    since I am new to body work, I dont really know what I am doing. I know that I dont want to heat up the metal to much or it will warp my body.

should I do a lot of tack welds or do I do constant weld but for a very short bead say 1''.

here are some of my test pieces.

• cncmachinist
    • Feb 2010

for a start its good
    1 turn up the heat and hold time if you do stitch weld (lots of connected tacks)
    2 consistency keep the time or speed of travel the same and get the penetration
    3 body panels may be thin but poor penetration on the welds the panel will break out and rust
    4 use a fine flap wheel on the grinder or it the beads are nice keep them ( ive had customers look at my body panels on old school 40s trucks and 60-70s era mustangs and they wanted the beads)

5 practice practice practice its looking good
    Leblond Makino mills
    HAAS CNC SL-40 lathe
    American Pacemaker lathe
    wells index mill
    hydrotel rebuilt
    syncrowave 250
    diversion 165
    Miller Elite Vintage USA

Comment

• Shnitzlhaus
      • Jul 2010

thank you cncmachinist.

some actually told me to lay smaller constant beads around 1''. would that be more appropriate.

to me I think it would warp panels.

the other thing I was wondering is when tack welding I would need to have my wire speed and voltage set appropriate to the metal thickness (to hear a constant buzz) some were saying make voltage to penetrate and turn wire speed down allot, wouldnt that mean the welding wire would burn away faster and not really appropriate.

Comment

• gusb
        • Feb 2009

no expert but...